2015 TSDA Boot Camp

TSDA hosted the eighth annual TSDA Boot Camp September 17-20, 2015 in Chapel Hill, NC. The program, developed by TSDA and funded by various educational grants, provided resident participants with training in five specific CT surgical areas: cardiopulmonary bypass, vessel anastomosis, open lobectomy, brochoscopy/mediastinoscopy, and aortic valve surgery. Mini-sessions on aortic root anatomy and mitral valve surgery were also on the schedule. More than 40 volunteer faculty members and guests donated their time and expertise to lead the resident courses.

Boot Camp program directors, James I. Fann, MD, Richard H. Feins, MD, George L. Hicks, Jr. MD, Jon Nesbitt, MD, and Nahush Mokadam, MD crafted the two-and-a-half day intensive course based on needs emerging in CT surgery residency programs. With the use of simulators for both the cardiac and thoracic sessions, the training provides experience and hands-on practice in basic CT operating skills, allowing residents to be better prepared when entering the operating room in their home programs.

Click here to view photos from this year’s event.

Course Materials

Boot Camp Schedule
Anatomy of the Heart

Cardiac: Aortic Root Anatomy
Aortic Valve and Root Anatomy

Cardiac: Vessel Anastomosis
Coronary and Vascular Anastomosis

Cardiac: Cardiopulmonary Bypass
Introduction to Cardiopulmonary Bypass
Cardiopulmonary Bypass Steps
Portfolio for Cardiac Surgery
Simple Pig Heart Model

General Thoracic: Open Lobectomy
Course Syllabus
Lung Cancer Staging
Lymph Node Map

General Thoracic: Bronchoscopy/Mediastinoscopy
Lung Separate Techniques
The Use of Fiberoptic Endoscopy in Anesthesia
One Lung Ventilation Module

Cardiac: Introduction to Mitral Valve Surgery
Course Outline
Mitral Valve Anatomy
Movie: Resident resecting diseased anterior leaflet
Movie: Resident placing posterior mitral valve leaflet annuloplasty sutures
Movie: Resident placing posterior mitral leaflet replacement sutures

Cardiac: Orientation to Aortic Valve Surgery
Aortic Valve Pathology and Treatment

Corporate Supporters
Thank you to TSDA’s generous industry sponsors for their support of the 2015 Boot Camp through educational grants:

Medal of Honor
Medtronic, Inc.

Gold Bars
Baxter Healthcare Corp.

Silver Cluster
St. Jude Medical, Inc.
Terumo Cardiovascular Systems

Bronze Star
Davol, A Bard Company
Scanlan International

3si, A Downing Health Technologies Company
Davol, A Bard Company
KindHeart, Inc.
Maquet Medical Systems, USA
Medtronic, Inc.
Scanlan International
Sorin Group
Transonic Systems

Product Support
TSDA thanks the following contributors for their generous donations of equipment and supplies:

3si, A Downing Health Technologies Company
CAE Healthcare
The Chamberlain Group
CorMatrix Cardiovascular, Inc.
Davol, A Bard Company
Inventive Medical
Karl Storz Endoscopy America, Inc.
KindHeart, Inc.
Medtronic, Inc.
Olympus Corporation of the Americas
Scanlan International, Inc.
Sorin Group
St. Jude Medical, Inc.
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc.

2015 Boot Camp Participants

Program Directors
James I. Fann, MD, Stanford University
Richard H. Feins, MD, University of North Carolina
George L. Hicks, Jr., MD, University of Rochester
Nahush Mokadam, MD, University of Washington
Jon Nesbitt, MD, Vanderbilt University

Residency Program Participants
Albany Medical College
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Cleveland Clinic
Duke University
Emory University
Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine
Indiana University
Loma Linda University
Medical University of South Carolina
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Montefiore Medical Center
New York University
Oregon Health & Science University
Penn State University
Rush University Medical Center
The Ohio State University
University of Alabama
University of California Davis
University of California Los Angeles
University of California San Diego
University of California San Francisco
University of Chicago
University of Cincinnati
University of Colorado
University of Florida
University of Iowa
University of Kansas Medical Center
University of Louisville
University of Minnesota
University of Mississippi
University of Pittsburgh
University of Rochester
University of Texas Southwestern
University of Utah
University of Virginia
University of Wisconsin
Wake Forest University
Washington University
Yale-New Haven Medical Center

Manjit Bains, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Leora Balsam, MD, New York University
Lewis Britton, MD, Albany Medical Center
Harold Burkhart, MD, University of Oklahoma
D. Pat Burney, MD, Moses Cone Hospital
Randolph Chitwood, MD, East Carolina University
Benedict Daly, MD, Boston University Medical Center
Richard Engelman, MD, Baystate Medical Center
Eugene  Grossi, MD, New York University
Julian Guitron, MD, University of Cincinnati
John Hammon, MD, Wake Forest University
Philip Hess, MD, Indiana University
Mark Iannettoni, MD, East Carolina University
John Ikonomidis, MD, Medical University of South Carolina
William Jakobleff, MD, Montefiore Medical Center
Carolyn Jones, MD, University of Rochester
David Joyce, MD, Mayo Clinic
Sean Kwon, MD, Hofstra North Shore LIJ Medical Group
Thomas MacGillivray, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
Ryan Macke, MD, University of Wisconsin
Frank Manetta, MD, Hofstra-North Shore LIJ
Joe Miller, MD, Piedmont Heart Institute
Dilip Nath, MD, Children’s National Medical Center
Bill Northrup, MD, CryoLife
W. Steves Ring, MD, University of Texas Southwestern
Eric Sarin, MD, Emory University
Paul Schipper, MD, Oregon Health & Science University
Lana Schumacher, MD, Allegheny General Hospital
Sara Shumway, MD, University of Minnesota
Mithran Sukumar, MD, Oregon Health & Science University
George Tolis, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
Jennifer Walker, MD, Umass Memorial Medical Center
Darryl Weiman, MD, University of Tennessee
Walter Wolfe, MD
Stephen Yang, MD, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Faculty Support
Mark S. Adams, RDCS, Massachusetts General Hospital
Daniel N. Coore, PhD, University of West Indies, Jamaica
Nathan Darrow, CCP, University of Rochester
Paul S. Ramphal, DM, University of West Indies, Jamaica