2014 TSDA Boot Camp

TSDA hosted the seventh annual TSDA Boot Camp September 11-14, 2014 in Chapel Hill, NC. The program, developed by TSDA and funded by various educational grants, provided resident participants with training in five specific CT surgical areas: cardiopulmonary bypass, vessel anastomosis, open lobectomy, brochoscopy/mediastinoscopy, and aortic valve surgery. Mini-sessions on aortic root anatomy and mitral valve surgery were also on the schedule. More than 35 volunteer faculty members and guests donated their time and expertise to lead the resident courses.

Boot Camp program directors, James I. Fann, MD, Richard H. Feins, MD, and George L. Hicks, Jr. MD, crafted the two-and-a-half day intensive course based on needs emerging in CT surgery residency programs. With the use of simulators for both the cardiac and thoracic sessions, the training provides experience and hands-on practice in basic CT operating skills, allowing residents to be better prepared when entering the operating room in their home programs.

Click here to view photos from the 2014 TSDA Boot Camp.

Corporate Supporters

Thank you to TSDA’s generous industry sponsors for their support of the 2014 Boot Camp through educational grants:

Medal of Honor
Medtronic, Inc.
St. Jude Medical, Inc.

Gold Bars
Baxter Healthcare Corp.
CryoLife, Inc.
Olympus Corporation of the Americas

Silver Cluster

Bronze Star
CorMatrix Cardiovascular, Inc.
Scanlan International, Inc.

TSDA thanks the following contributors for their generous donations of equipment and supplies:

Baxter Healthcare Corp.
Boston Scientific
CAE Healthcare
The Chamberlain Group
CorMatrix Cardiovascular, Inc.
CryoLife, Inc.
Edwards Lifesciences
Karl Storz-Endoscopy America, Inc.
Maquet Cardiovascular
Medtronic, Inc.
Olympus Corporation of the Americas
Scanlan International, Inc.
Sorin Group
St. Jude Medical, Inc.
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
W.L. Gore & Associates


2014 Boot Camp Particpants

Program Directors
James I. Fann, MD, Stanford University
Richard H. Feins, MD, University of North Carolina
George L. Hicks, Jr., MD, University of Rocheste

Residency Program Particpants
Allegheny General Hospital
Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Heart Institute
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Cleveland Clinic
Duke University
Emory University
Hofstra NorthShore LIJ School of Medicine
Indiana University
Loma Linda University
Loyola University
Massachusetts General Hospital
Medical University of South Carolina
Montefiore Medical Center
Ohio State University
Oregon Health & Science University
Penn State University
Rush University
Stanford University
University of Alabama
University of California Davis
University of California Los Angeles
University of California San Diego
University of Chicago
University of Colorado
University of Iowa
University of Kansas
University of Louisville
University of Minnesota
University of North Carolina
University of Pittsburgh
University of Rochester
University of Southern California
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
University of Texas Southwestern
University of Utah
University of Virginia
University of Wisconsin
Washington University
Yale-New Haven Medical Center

Faculty Support
Mark S. Adams, RDCS, Massachusetts General Hospital
Daniel N. Coore, PhD, University of West Indies, Jamaica
Paul S. Ramphal, DM, University of West Indies, Jamaica
Bruce Searles, CCP, SUNY Syracuse

John Alexander, MD, University of North Carolina
Manjit Bains, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Leora Balsam, MD, New York University
Lewis Britton, MD, Albany Medical College
Harold Burkhart, MD, University of Oklahoma
D. Pat Burney, MD, Moses Cone Hospital
Andrea J. Carpenter, MD, University of Texas San Antonio
Mark Ferguson, MD, University of Chicago
Eugene Grossi, MD, New York University
Phil Hess, MD, University of Florida
Carolyn Jones, MD, University of Rochester
Peter  Knight, MD, University of Rochester
Sean Kwon, MD, Long Island Jewish
Ryan Macke, MD, University of Wisconsin
Douglas Minnich, MD, University of Alabama
Nahush A. Mokadam, MD, University of Washington
Dilip Nath, MD, Children’s National Medical Center
Jon Nesbitt, MD, Vanderbilt University
Bill Northrup, MD, CryoLife
Mark Onaitis, MD, Duke University
Satoru Osaki, MD, University of Wisconsin
W. Steves Ring, MD, University of Texas Southwestern
Eric Sarin, MD, Emory University
Lana Schumacher, MD, Allegheny General Hospital
Norman Snow, MD, Dartmouth College
Mithran Sukumar, MD, Oregon Health and Science University
Jennifer Walker, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
Darryl Weiman, MD, University of Tennessee
Stephen Yang, MD, Johns Hopkins
Sam Youssef, MD, Swedish Heart and Vascular Institute